Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Mots et Images
Mots et Images
Derniers commentaires
Newsletter
13 février 2006

The true and outstanding adventures of the Sisters Hunt, d'Elizabeth Robinson (2004)

trueadventureshuntsistersPrésentation d'Amazon :(...)The True and Outstanding  Adventures of the Hunt Sisters is a one-sided epistolary novel. We get  to read all the letters written by Olivia Hunt, erstwhile film producer,  over the year she learns her sister Maddie has cancer. Olivia scuttles  between her hometown in Ohio, where Maddie still lives, and Los Angeles,  where she's trying to get a film version of Don Quixote off the ground.  Along the way, she writes newsy letters to her best friend Tina, crabby mash  notes to her ex-boyfriend Michael, worried missives to her parents, breezy  memos to (real-life) entertainment honchos, and cheery entertainments to  Maddie herself. (...)--Claire Dederer


I did it ! I did it ! (read it in english) Who would have bet ?

I thought that was a kind of another Bridget Jones' Journal, but with letters this time. Maybe misfortunes and heartbreaks and crushes would have appeared similar, but Olivia is probably wiser and deeply involved in her affections, even if she is blamed not to be.
I feel I didn't progress a lot in english (my errors here don't let any illusion about it : si quelqu'un accepte de me corriger, c'est bien volontiers) because I almost didn't use my dictionary, but I read faster, and I'm quite ready to live this kind of experience again.
Another big point is that I took "Don Quichotte" which Olivia tried to produce at the library, just to evaluate if their adaptation was that ludicrous.

J'avais peur d'une énième "Bridget Jones", mais ce recueil de lettres est bien plus profond.
Certes l'héroïne est une trentenaire célibataire et avide d'affection, mais elle en dispense aussi énormément et découvre le pouvoir de la sympathie et l'apaisement qu'il apporte, dans les joies comme dans les peines. C'est "Famille, je vous aime".

Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Archives
Publicité